This Landscaping and Exteriorscape Fix-up is a Work In Progress

The exterior is a work in progress… This week brought landscaping, painting of the fence, and new lighting.   Over Mother’s Day Weekend I found some great deals at Lowes on rose bushes (Buy-One, Get One Free!) and some beautiful Hydrangea and Wiegela bushes for under $7 each!  In addition to that, if your child attended their little building workshop, Mothers got a $10 off card.  Very Nice! 

Last year I had purchased new lights for outside at Home Depot for a song- only problem was they were black.  Guess what?!?  I painted them!  Spray painted them with a hammered-look, outdoor spray paint purchased at Wal-Mart .  I made sure power was off to the existing lights outside and I installed them myself.  Took about an hour to do all three out front.  The first one was the hardest because I needed to make sure I knew what I was doing.  I grounded the wire per instructions and matched white to white and black to black wires and voile, they were up.

Painted the fence frame and fence posts with the same hammered-look paint I used on the lights and I have already gotten a compliment from the neighbor.  Here are a few hints to keep in mind:

  • Make sure you have enough spray paint- it doesn’t go as far as you would think!
  • Have something underneath and behind what you are painting, the paint spray travels and goes everywhere.
  • Make sure the paint is for the exterior and for metal… There are a variety of paints on the market so read the can and verify it is the right stuff.
  • If something is rusted, lightly sand before painting, otherwise, the paint will peel off.
  • If doing electrical work, check and double check that the power is off.  This is a biggie!  ;-}
  • Follow the instructions for planting.  I know that seems redundant but if you put a plant in the wrong spot, it probably won’t make it or if it does, it will look sparse.  (I don’t know about you but if I spend money on a plant, I want it to live).
  • One thing I have learned over the years is not to plant when the sun is high in the sky, it stresses the plants.  I also like to cut the flowers off so that the plant can re-blossom and also acclimate to the ground.

My new windows were delivered this week so the next couple of weeks will be busy with window installation.  How exciting!  Stay tuned for more hints, tips and bargains.  Oh, one last thing, Fred Meyer has a spot at the back of the garden area where they are putting their not so perfect plants for half price.  Great bargain!  Take Care.

Leave a comment

Filed under Aging in Place

Leave a Reply

