Customer Service

I am sitting here among my very disorganized, cluttered mess that is gathering more dust and disorganization as we speak.  I wrote a couple weeks back about getting my windows replaced – they are all installed but a few things have cropped up since they were installed: like water streaming in around the window frames and flowing down my pretty new windows.  Okay, I am patient but there is a limit to my patience.  (My daughter would tell you I have no patience, but really, I try). 

Here is my dilemma- I can’t put my blinds and curtains back up because: 1)- some of the windows are leaking and 2)- when the window installers replaced my windows they (I am giving them the benefit of the doubt here) accidentally broke the mini-blind brackets so now, they won’t mount.  On top of that, because my home is almost thirty years old, there have been many renditions of blinds installed and there really isn’t a place to mount new blinds without considerable cosmetic repair.  So, at this point, I am waiting for the person who installed my windows to come back and “fix” the leaks then I have to repair the wet areas and install casing around the windows on the inside.  Add on to that the furniture that is askew because it can’t be in front of the windows, and basically, I have chaos.  Not even controlled chaos at this point…

So, you ask, why am I telling you this?  Because it is a fine example of bad business and what it does to the client, who, in this case, is me.  I am not going to bad mouth the person who installed my windows, that isn’t what this is about.  What it is about is customer service.  Customer service is crucial if you want return business.  I pride myself on taking care of my clients.  I never want someone to say, “Oh, that Alesha, she never returns your calls”, or “Alesha helped me but never followed up.” 

I was a store manager for the HoneyBaked Ham Company many moons ago and I am proud to say I was always tops in customer service as a store and personally.  If you are my client, I will be there for you.  I always go above and beyond to help because that is what I would want if I were in your shoes.  I watched a short video from Simple Truths that really struck a nerve with me- it is about customer service (watch it here– it is  amazing) and what we should all strive in helping others.  Okay, I will now go back to my chaos and try to move some stuff around.  Take care.

Leave a comment

Filed under Aging in Place

Leave a Reply

